Keith Moodys report from the Junior Match Play and Patrons Cups

County Juniors Update
The LUGC county juniors have just completed their competitive fixtures for 2015 with a busy half term week which took in the match play championship at Canwick Park and the Patrons’ Cups at Blankney Golf Clubs. Sadly the weather tried its best to spoil things but on the first day the heavy morning rain cleared away in time for the quarter finals of the boys match play championship. Sadly Sanjay Nithiyalingham sustained an arm injury a day or two before and had to withdraw which allowed Alex Wright through to the next round unchallenged. We wish Sanjay a speedy recovery and a return to action as soon as possible. Of the remaining three matches that took to the course there were comfortable wins for Jake Craddock over Aaron Kay, Billy Wright over Harry Glenn and finally Henry Cawthorne ran out a 2 up winner over Hugo Kedzlie.
Day two again suffered with some rain but not as heavy as the previous day and again it didn’t prevent the semi finals from getting away on time. As could be expected both contests were very close with Billy Wright overcoming Jake Craddock 2 and 1 which was also the same score line which saw Henry Cawthorne through to the final over Alex Wright. This set up an afternoon final between Billy Wright and Henry Cawthorne which turned out to be a thrilling match which wasn’t settled until the second extra hole in the favour of Billy Wright who bows out of junior golf with this fine win.
The girls also played their match play final in the afternoon and it saw Lois Williamson overcome Tilly Kedzlie.
Day three of the week saw the action move a few miles down the road to Blankney for the Patrons Cups where a large entry played again in damp conditions. The damp and slightly windy conditions on a long course took its toll on the scoring with very few players in the field able to break par. The winner of the boys’ Patrons Cup was Harry Glenn and Charlotte McCracken taking the girls’ trophy. William Saville took the best gross prize for boys and Lois Williamson for the girls.